MikeLD
CONTACT

SEEKING

Band to Join, Lead Guitar, Rhythm Guitar, Vocalist, Bass Guitar, Violin, Keyboard, Background Singer, Fiddle, Steel guitar.

ABOUT

Lafayette, LA Drummer/Vocalist - Spot gigs, regular gigs, or studio work.
** With 35 years experience, I can more than take care of business. Laying down smooth steady rhythms in many styles, I can also help with any vocal part(s). Just read through the content of this page, and listen to some demos of my work. For bookings just fire off a message my way and we’ll work out the details. Thanks for checking in!

With humble beginnings at 16 rockin’ out with Purple Haze (great band name, eh?), my experience includes Drum & Bugle Corp and spot gigs in the U.S. Air Force, various Rock bands, Swamp Pop, Rockabilly, Western Swing, R&B, Country bands, Soft & Classic Rock - and I'm interested in other genres as well. I’ve held permanent positions in 12 bands and spot gigged for countless others creating a reputation of a highly dependable professional. Writing and recording since the early ‘80s (listen to some demos on this site), I’ve charted at number 2 on the Country Swing charts with "I Do" at .soundclick and number 39 with "The Right Direction" on the Classic Rock charts.

** Playing Country Music for over 15 years, highlights of my musical career so far include opening up for:
Lorrie Morgan (.lorrie), Earl Thomas Conley (.earlthomasconley/index.cfm), Steve Wariner (.stevewariner), Sammy Kershaw (.sammykershaw), Joe Diffie (.joediffie), Jo-el Sonnier (.jo-elsonnier), Brian Black (./brianblackbands), Andy Griggs ( .andygriggs), Eddie Raven (.eddyraven).

** I’ve also played with some great local talent including:
Chalan Thibodeaux (.chalanthibodeaux), Bill Tate (City Limits), Billy Malligary (City Limits), Scott Ardoin (City Limits), Merlin Landry (Day After Yesterday - ./mplandry), Charlie Dupuis, Michael and Ray Johnson (.rayjohnsonband), Shane West, Roy Bertucci (.rbr2c/home.html), Gary Granger (./garygranger), Daryl Sons (C.O.D.), Charlie Bragg (C.O.D.), Tim Simon Bassist/vocalist for Greg Martinez and The Dalta Kings (.greggmartinez), Beau Thomas (.cdbaby/cd/beauthomas), Milton Guilbeaux (C.O.D.), and many more.

** Playing Philosophy:
1 - Makes no sense to me anymore, for a drummer to play overbearingly loudl that all the other band members have to turn way up to compensate. This creates sound control/feedback problems on stage and in the mains, not to mention is harmful to our hearing. So my playing volume is lower but with a good solid dependable pulse that lives tightly in the pocket.
2 - It is imperative for a band to have great vocals, this is a big part of what enhances a band's sound.
3 - Egos have no place in a good working band. Members need to listen to one another and bring all the expertise they have to the table. And when a member excells in a certain area, all other members need to acknowlege that, and allow that member to be the guide for that aspect of the band. But no member should develop a big head about it.

Screen name:
MikeLD
Member since:
May 21 2006
Active over 1 month ago
Level of commitment:
Committed
Years playing music:
30
Gigs played:
Over 100
Tend to practice:
1 time per week
Available to gig:
2-3 nights a week
Most available:
Nights

Influences

The Beatles, Doobie Brothers, Eagles, Billy Preston, Many Motown Artists, Kansas, ELO, Earth Wind And Fire, Al Jarreau, Alan Parsons, Ambrosia, Alabama, George Strait, Restless Heart, Steve Wariner, Asleep At The Wheel, Keith Whitley, Carl Perkins, Many more...

EQUIPMENT

Mapex Saturn drum kit with Sabian Cymbals, SM57 and/or SM58 vocal mics, Digital Reference Drum Mics, AKG D112 Kick Drum Mic, Peavy 18 channel RQ2318 mixer, Tascam 788 Eight channel digital recorder, Qbase recording software.

MUSIC